My 5-minute Bolognese sauce!

Normally I make my pasta sauce from scratch, but it takes a lot longer than 5 minutes. THRIVE Life has a great line of sauce bases, which you can use just by adding water, or in a recipe to create another sauce or even a dish. In my starter kit there was a pantry size can of Tomato Sauce, so I decided to make pasta on Monday.

sauces-tomato_1

 

Now, remember fussy husband, no likey vegetables? I don’t have a lot of vegetables to incorporate yet, but so far I have celery and onion that I can use. I am NOT putting sweet corn in my pasta sauce, lol. I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to test out my ability to ‘disguise’ veggies in the food I make, using THRIVE’s freeze-dried veggies. You see, one of the benefits of freeze-dried foods is that you can grind it down into a powder. Finally, an opportunity to use the mortar and pestle!!

2014-06-23 16.31.02

 

 

Anyhow, let me backtrack a bit. The first thing I did was reconstitute the ground beef. To make 1 lb. of ground beef, you combine 2 ½ cups Ground Beef with 2 cups of warm water. Give it a stir to make sure it’s evenly soaking up the water, and let it sit for a few minutes. Can you see how the stuff in the can looks dry, and the stuff in the bowl looks moist? Maybe not, I just took these quickly on my iPhone!

2014-06-23 16.32.09

 

 

Next, I put some celery in the mortar and ground it up. It only took me 15 to 30 seconds, not hard at all! I did the same for the onions.

Powdered Celery 2014-06-23 16.35.03

2014-06-23 16.36.26

 

 

Stirred it all up and moved on to the next step! Now, I want to mention, there is an excellent recipe for Bolognese Sauce right on the can of Tomato Sauce. I’ve been making my own from scratch for years, and I didn’t have everything called for, so I just ignored it. That being said, if you purchase the Tomato Sauce, I highly recommend trying the recipe!

At this point, I got so excited by how fast things were progressing that I forgot to take pictures, eep! I was literally maybe no more than 5 minutes into my adventure. I chucked the above into the skillet, and proceeded to mix up some sauce in a bowl. Chucked the tomato sauce in the skillet, added some ground pepper and some roasted garlic powder to it, and let it simmer! OMG, a 5-minute Bolognese!

It was very tasty. Hubby commented that it tasted a bit different from what I normally make, but that he liked it. I asked him if he’d be okay with me making it that way from now on, and he said yes! I’m really looking forward to getting some red and green bell peppers to grind up and add to my sauce next time!

The funny thing is that it took longer to boil the pasta than it did to make the sauce. That’s a first. Here is the end result below. I toyed with the thought of using some of the THRIVE cheese (which we tried the other day and was very tasty!) but I had some Balderson’s 2 year aged cheddar in the fridge that I really wanted to use. =)

2014-06-23 18.58.34

 

What do you think? How do you make your Bolognese sauce, and what would you suggest I add next time? Here is the full list of veggies (I was even thinking I could sneak broccoli and asparagus in… if I wanted!) Let me know what I should try!

http://www.kimkirby.thrivelife.com/all-products/thrive-foods/vegetables.html

3 thoughts on “My 5-minute Bolognese sauce!

Leave a Reply

